Professors Against Plagiarism

استادان علیه تقلب

مبارزه با تخلف و تقلب علمی در دانشگاه‌ها

این بلاگ به همت تعدادی از استادان دانشگاه‌های کشور ایجاد شده و هدف آن مبارزه با تخلف یا تقلب علمی در دانشگاه است

مقدمه

به‌نام خداوند هستی و هم راستی

این بلاگ به همت تعدادی از استادان دانشگاه‌های کشور ایجاد شده است و هدف آن مبارزه با تخلف و تقلب علمی در دانشگاه‌ها چه از سوی دانش‌جویان و چه از سوی اعضای هیات علمی است. متاسفانه ما شاهد گسترش حرکت‌های غیر اخلاقی در فضای علمی کشور هستیم که با انگیزه‌هایی چون اخذ مدرک، پذیرش یا ارتقای مرتبه‌ی دانشگاهی صورت می‌گیرتد.

ما با هرگونه تقلب مخالفیم و سکوت در برابر آن‌را هم جایز نمی‌دانیم. در این بلاگ قصد داریم برخی موارد و روش‌های تقلب‌ را بیان و ضمن آموزش به دانش‌جویان و تلاش برای اشاعه‌ی اخلاق و آداب حرفه‌ای در جمع خودمان‌، مسولان را وادار کنیم تا به مشکل تقلب و ریشه‌های آن واکنش جدی نشان دهند.

۲۱ مرداد ۱۳۸۷

استادان یا پژوهشگران حامی

حمایت

اگر می‌خواهید نامتان به‌عنوان یکی از حامیان ذکر شود، نام کامل و آدرس وبگاه خود را به آدرس ghodsi_AT_sharif_DOT_edu ارسال نمایید و در صورت تغییر گروه حامی ما را مطلع کنید..

تعداد زیادی آدرس بلاگ خود را فرستاده‌اند که متاسفانه امکان استفاده از آن به‌جای وبگاه نیست.

بایگانی مطالب

آخرین نظرات

A light hearted approach to PAP

Nader Naghshineh | يكشنبه, ۲۴ آذر ۱۳۸۷
When I learned about the Professors Against Plagiarism, I jumped in with both feet. I knew the majority of the founding members, some personally and some by reputation.

So here I am in my lab tinkering with a piece of equipment and for the umpteenth time marveling at how could I cannibalize parts that I see this colleague of mine standing over me across the repair bay. "So you are the whistle-blower". he said
"Huh?!" I extemporated, droping my probe. "Come again...?" I said uncertainly.
"You know...The blog thing...I saw your name" he said. Gradually my auto-intellection circuits are clicking. "Do you mean the Professors Against Plagiarism?" Yep, there was a glint in his eyes.

"I can help you!" he offered. Apparently he knew of several skeleton in the closets. My suggestion was that the said skeletons are better off being there undisturbed. The Professors against plagiarism seem to have had an impact far in excess of what it founders originally had in mind. Some university professors who seem to feel being slighted often treat us as a sort of an academic SWAT team.

"Professor, do you have time?" Says another student. I glare, I hate being addressed by this title since I have not earned it yet but then even nowadays the technicians at tv repair shops call each other Mohandes and Doctor. "What can I do for you?" I ask trying to put the student at ease with a collegial smile. It really didn't came out quite as I intended. The student then bursts into tears claiming that her work has been swiped by some PhD students and offered at a conference. "when is the conference?" I ask uncomfortably. I always had problem dealing with emotional outburst. It later turns out that the conference had taken place last quarter, but it had been just lately that the proceedings had came off the press. Actually I have a student whose sole reason of existence seems to be having his work being plagiarized. It seems that there is an open season on some of the students. Apparently some see both the founding and supporting members of this blog as a sort of Solicitor/arbitrator.

It is 06:30 A.M. I just open the laboratory to check the equipments for the 8:00 class. I see a brown envelope on the center conference table. It is addressed to me. I open it, after a mere moment weighing it. There is an unsigned letter with copies of two annotated books. "These are the evidence. I seek none but Justice. You know what to do" the letter says cryptically. Apparently one book contains broad, unreferenced passages from the other work. I put the package in a file cabinet I had set aside for such things. It seems that I need to order a new one very soon. Perhaps the anonymous sender thought that we are a kind of Scholarly FBI or BPI (Bureau of Plagiat Investigation).

I believe that this weblog indeed had a great impact. For some of us more than most. However from all the encounters I had so far, it seems to me that most universities lack a detailed protocol for dealing with such issue. The Information Studies Lab at University of Tehran is one such organization trying to ascertain the possible patterns of such protocols. On good authority, I know that they have even sent students to Sharif University to see how do they deal with plagiarism. I find this amusing because I do not understand why Sharif seems to be seen as so controversial.
At any rate, I like to know whether we should actually work towards organizing a symposium dealing with the possible forms of the anti-plagiaristic protocols or even those dealing with the culprits. Who is willing to lend his purse?

موافقین ۰ مخالفین ۰ ۸۷/۰۹/۲۴
Nader Naghshineh

نظرات (۳)

۲۵ آذر ۸۷ ، ۱۲:۲۱ محمد قدسی
آقای دکتر نفشینه،
لطفا پست خود را کامل نمایید.
In response to Dr. Donyagar comments, I made the modifications. I just assumed that my profile would contain the necessary data and given the fact that Dr. Ghodsi had earlier screened members of these blogs cleared to post, it seemed that my identity was not an issue.

As I pointed out earlier this was to be treated light heartedly. PAP is an unofficial amalgamation of people sharing concern about the scourge of misrepresentation and misconduct in science in Iran. I wanted to emphasize that there seems to be a lack of protocol for dealing with such issues in the country higher education.

I dug into the records...criminal records that is...and saw that there had been only one instance where the Iranian courts had indeed ruled against plagiarism back in late 1980's. The only rule that seems to apply is the one that would put the professors in the same league as with writers, painters, composers and singers.

There is a well of expectations by people who have had either their works plagiarized due to influence peddling or what I wish to call criminal neglect at official level.
Are we to do something concrete about redressing these ills or do we just talk and then pat ourselves on the back, or do we follow the tradition of the scientific community by providing our peers and fellows with alternatives?

Perhaps my earlier post was too allegorical but then the whole persian mind-set works in allegories.

My suggestion is quite simple:

1- We need to devise and develop a protocol dealing with instances of plagiarism that could be used as a yardstick by our peers and universities in cases of intellectual property contentions. The University of Tehran for instance has a case where a professor was accused of a plagiarism by some university in UK. The investigation was done unofficially, and then terminated at higher ups. However the lessons learned showed that a legally sound procedure in line with best practices find abroad could be devised.

2- Following a research done by one of my students it seems that in some eastern cultures it is considered a sign of respect to quote the works of masters without referencing them. So there is not only a cultural dimension involved but also a corporate identity angle involved as well.

3- We need also to get together more often for some face to face exchange. We need to reach out to others who may not be aware of this group and see what they have to offer.

4- It would be dangerous if our peers consider this group as another bunch of aloof, academic nerdies. We may mot have intended to assume the role of arbitrator of uncertainties, but do we shrug if such a role is trusted upon us? We put our names on the blog to lend support to the initiative. How far should we go.

We have lit a spark...do we intend to fan it into a fire, or keep it just that...a spark.
I read the post made by Dr. “Nader” two times. It is normal to expect that those who leave comments on a post want to stay anonymous. That is why many people use initials or first names. I didn’t think that the distinguished professors who are allowed to make posts want to stay anonymous too. The post is a bit vague. It talks about skeletons in closets. The goal of the blog is not to dig out skeletons but rather it deals with the general practices of deceive. I wish that Dr. Nader could be more specific and tell us what he meant in a language that a high school graduate like me could understand it too.

ارسال نظر

ارسال نظر آزاد است، اما اگر قبلا در بیان ثبت نام کرده اید می توانید ابتدا وارد شوید.
شما میتوانید از این تگهای html استفاده کنید:
<b> یا <strong>، <em> یا <i>، <u>، <strike> یا <s>، <sup>، <sub>، <blockquote>، <code>، <pre>، <hr>، <br>، <p>، <a href="" title="">، <span style="">، <div align="">
تجدید کد امنیتی